Databases by Name

Select databases by name.
 

If you would like, you may also view the available databases By Major/Course, by usage - Top Ten, or  By Type.

OFFSITE USERS: Enter your myFranklin username and password when prompted after selecting a database.
 

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W

Academic Search Complete

  • Index, abstracts, and full text for many scholarly publications covering all academic areas of study.

Tutorial

ACM Digital Library

  • Full text of journal and conference papers from the Association for Computing Machinery.

ACS Publications

  • Current and older full-text journals from the American Chemical Society.

African-American Poetry 1760-1900

  • Please Note: You will enter the American and English Literature collections within the Electronic Book Center. From there, reselect the name of the database to search it specifically, or conduct a cross-search of all collections on the landing page.
  • 3000 poems by African-American poets in the late 18th and early 19th centuries.

AGRICOLA

  • Citations for journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audio-visual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture.

Tutorial

AHFS Consumer Medication Information

  • Drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers to provide vital education on medications and safety.

Tutorial

Alt HealthWatch

  • Index, abstracts, and full text covering complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.

Tutorial

America: History and Life

  • Index to articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada.

Tutorial

American Chemical Society (ACS) Journals

  • Full-text journal articles in chemistry and related fields.

American Doctoral Dissertations

  • More than 153,000 theses and dissertations from 1902 to the present.
  • Includes links to full-text from free platforms where available.

American Drama

  • Please Note: You will enter the American and English Literature collections within the Electronic Book Center. From there, reselect the name of the database to search it specifically, or conduct a cross-search of all collections on the landing page.
  • American dramatic literature from 1714 to the present.

American Periodicals Series Online

  • Digitized images of the pages of over 1,100 historic American magazines, journals, and newspapers.

Tutorial

American Physical Society (APS) Journals

  • Full-text journal articles in physics and related fields.

American Poetry 1600-1900

  • Please Note: You will enter the American and English Literature collections within the Electronic Book Center. From there, reselect the name of the database to search it specifically, or conduct a cross-search of all collections on the landing page.
  • 40,000 poems of American writers from the 17th to the early 20th century.

American Psychological Association (APA) PsycArticles

  • Full-text journal articles in all areas of psychology.

 

Ancestry Library Edition

  • Please Note: This source is available ONLY on campus.
  • The library edition of Ancestry.com, meant for genealogical and historical research.
  • Contains U.S. census, military, immigration, and vital records, along with newspapers, city directories, school and church histories, and tax records.

Applied Science & Technology with Full Text

  • Indexing and full-text articles in all applied science specialties, including acoustics, aeronautics, neural networks, nuclear engineering, physics, space science and more.

Tutorial

Art & Architecture Complete

  • Includes indexing and full-text articles on antiques, archaeology, architecture & architectural history, conservation and restoration, costume design, decorative arts, graphic arts, interior & landscape design, painting, photography, printmaking, and sculpture.

Tutorial

Art and Architecture

  • OhioLink Digital Resource Commons – Includes images from the following collections: The Daphne Dare Costume Collection, Saskia Art History Images, and WPA Prints by Cleveland Artists

Art Full Text

  • Index and abstracts for articles in art.

Tutorial

Art Index Retrospective

  • Coverage period is 1929 -1984. Provides users access to over half a century of art literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art.

Tutorial

ArticleFirst (OCLC)

  • Index to articles from over 12,000 journals.

Tutorial

Arts and Humanities Citation Index (ISI)

  • Index and cited references for articles in the arts and humanities.

Tutorial

Associates Program Source

  • Includes full-text articles in areas often covered by associate degree programs, including alcohol & drug abuse counseling, biotechnology, computer & data processing, cosmetology, culinary arts, electrical technology, fashion design, fire science, forensics, graphic arts, health information technology, interior design, law enforcement & criminal justice, travel and tourism, and more.

Tutorial

ATLA Religion Database

  • Index to articles, book reviews, and essays in religion and theology.

Tutorial

Bible in English

  • Please Note: You will enter the American and English Literature collections within the Electronic Book Center. From there, reselect the name of the database to search it specifically, or conduct a cross-search of all collections on the landing page.
  • 21 versions of the Bible in full text, from the 10th to the 20th centuries.

Bibliography of American Literature

  • Please Note: You will enter the American and English Literature collections within the Electronic Book Center. From there, reselect the name of the database to search it specifically, or conduct a cross-search of all collections on the landing page.
  • A comprehensive bibliographic guide, providing nearly 40,000 records of the literary works of approximately 300 American writers from the American Revolution to 1930.

Bibliography of Native North Americans

  • Citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents covering native North American culture, history, and life.

Biography Reference Bank

  • Biographical information on approximately half a million people, from antiquity to the present.

Tutorial

Biological & Agricultural Index Plus

  • Includes indexing and full-text articles in biology, agriculture, environmental science, genetics, and wildlife management.

Tutorial

BIOSIS Previews

  • Index and abstracts to international journal articles in biological and medical research. BIOSIS Previews also covers books and meetings.

Tutorial

BNA's Compensation and Benefits Library

  • Please note: you can sign in with your Franklin e-mail address to enable personalization features, but this is not required. Click Go to My Product if you prefer not to sign in.

  • One-stop reference source that provides comprehensive, practical, and timely information regarding compensation and benefits issues, including materials that will assist professionals in designing, administering, and communicating effective programs and complying with governmental laws and regulations.

BNA's Human Resources Library

  • Please note: you can sign in with your Franklin e-mail address to enable personalization features, but this is not required. Click Go to My Product if you prefer not to sign in.
  • Full access to Human Resource materials providing quick guidance on more than 100 topics for HR professionals; including writing and maintaining HR policy and procedures.

Business Abstracts with Full Text

  • Includes indexing and full-text articles in all areas of business. 
  • Cross-references over 600,000 corporate names with industries and countries, and provides SIC and NAICS codes for over 190,000 subject terms.

Tutorial

Business Expert Press (ebooks)

  • Practical, concise books covering specific areas of business, including supply and operations management, international business, social media, finance, accounting, public relations, and marketing strategy. 
  • Written by international authorities, specifically for students seeking bachelors or masters degrees.
  • Unlimited use and no digital rights management.
  • Additional functionality such as bookmarking, note taking and printing/copying features are available by creating an ebrary account.

Business Insights: Global

Business Source Complete

  • Index, abstracts, and full text covering scholarly business journals on management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and much more.
  • NOTE: If  Harvard Business Review articles display with read-only restrictions, this is due to Harvard Business Publishing's agreement with EBSCO and cannot be altered unless you seek rates and permissions by contacting permissions@harvardbusiness.org.

Tutorial

Cambridge Core (Cambridge UP journals and books)

  • Full-text journals and books from Cambridge University Press.
  • Click "Only search content I have access to" to make sure you can access full-text.
  • Not all content is available. 
  • Journal content is likely also available in the Electronic Journal Center (EJC).

 

CareerBeam

  • Available to active Franklin students and graduated alumni at myFranklin - Shortcuts - Administrative - myCareerBeam. 
  • Alumni without a myFranklin account should e-mail careerbeam@franklin.edu for access. 
  • Provided by the Center for Career Development. Please e-mail careerbeam@franklin.edu for any questions or concerns.

Caribbean Search

  • Includes full-text English-language articles related to the countries and peoples of the Caribbean region.

Tutorial

Central & Eastern European Academic Source

  • Includes full-text resources about key academic subject areas such as business, literature, history, and political science specifically relating to central and eastern European countries.

Tutorial

CINAHL Plus with Full Text

  • Index, abstracts, and full text of the literature of nursing and allied health.

Tutorial

Clase and Periodica

  • Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities.

Tutorial

Communication & Mass Media Complete

  • Index, abstracts, and full text for journals in communication and mass media.

Tutorial

Computer Source

  • Index, abstracts, and full text covering the latest information and current trends in high technology.

Tutorial

Computers & Applied Sciences Complete

  • Index, abstracts and full text of articles in many engineering disciplines, computer theory, and new technologies.

Tutorial

Conference Proceedings Citation Index – Science

  • Index and cited references for conference proceedings in the sciences.

 

Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities

  • Index and cited references for conference proceedings in the social sciences and humanities.

Consumer Health Complete

  • Index, abstracts and full text of articles covering issues of health and wellness for the everyday consumer or patient.

Tutorial

Country Watch

  • International business information as well as country profiles.

Tutorial

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text

  • Index, abstracts, and full text for publications in criminal justice, criminology, corrections, policing, and investigations.

Tutorial

Derwent Innovations Index

  • Patent information from Derwent World Patent Index and patent citation information from Patents Citation Index.

Tutorial

Digital Resource Commons (OhioLINK) (Previously "Digital Media Center")

  • Collection of multi-media content containing instructional, research, historic and creative materials produced by the University System of Ohio and Ohio's private colleges. Subjects include but are not limited to Art & Architecture, History & Archives, Thesis and Dissertations of students from various Ohio universities and colleges.

Dissertation Abstracts (ProQuest Dissertations & Theses)

  • Index to information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses from North America and Europe.
  • Does not contain full-text of dissertations. Try Google Scholar or Proquest Dissertations and Theses Global to locate a free online version, or contact the library for additional assistance in accessing them.

Tutorial

Dissertation and Theses Global (Proquest)

  • Doctoral dissertations and master's theses from around the world.
  • Contains full-text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997.

Early American Fiction 1774-1850

  • Please Note: You will enter the American and English Literature collections within the Electronic Book Center. From there, reselect the name of the database to search it specifically, or conduct a cross-search of all collections on the landing page.
  • 440 novels and short stories of 80 American writers, 1774-1850.

Ebook Central

  • Collection of almost 150,000 Ebooks on Business, Computer Science/IT, Humanities, Nursing/Allied Health and More.
  • Additonal functionality, such as bookmarking, note taking and printing/copying features are available by creating an ebrary account.
  • Contains single use, multi-use and unlimited use titles. Click on the More link for details

Tutorial

EBSCO Databases

Tutorial

Ebsco Ebooks

  • Full text ebooks on a variety of topics.
  • Titles may be available in pdf or epub format. See link(s) below title for format availability.
  • Contains single use, multi-use and unlimited use titles. Click on the title to see concurrent user level.

 

Tutorial

Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare

  • Please Note: You will enter the American and English Literature collections within the Electronic Book Center. From there, reselect the name of the database to search it specifically, or conduct a cross-search of all collections on the landing page.
  • Full text of 11 major editions of Shakespeare's works, and related works.

Education Full Text

  • Provides full text of articles from over 350 journals as far back as 1996, in addition to indexing of more than 770 periodicals dating back to 1983.
  • Subject coverage includes adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, special education, teaching methods, and educational tests.

Tutorial

Education Research Complete

  • Index, abstracts and full text of articles and other publications in education research.

Tutorial

Educational Films & Documentaries (Previously "Digital Video Collection")

  • Full-length educational films and documentaries on many subjects.
  • Viewing videos:  with few exceptions, all videos are provided in an .flv (flash video) format and can be viewed from within any web browser with the Adobe® Flash® Player and browser plugin. Additional viewing options are to "view/download" the .rm version and view with the RealNetwork®RealPlayer® media player. For further information on the use and installation of the two applications mentioned above please refer to the Browsers Plug–Ins page on Franklin University's web site.

Eighteenth Century Fiction 1700-1800

  • Please Note: You will enter the American and English Literature collections within the Electronic Book Center. From there, reselect the name of the database to search it specifically, or conduct a cross-search of all collections on the landing page.
  • Full text of 96 works of prose fiction written in the British Isles, 1700-1780.

Electronic Book Center (OhioLINK)

  • Thousands of scholarly and reference e-books covering the humanities, sciences and social sciences.
  • Unlimited use titles with no digital rights management.

Electronic Journal Center (OhioLINK)

  • Full text of over 7,000 research journals, some starting in the 1800's.

Electronic Theses and Dissertation Center (OhioLINK DRC)

  • Online full-text theses and dissertations from Ohio graduate students.

e-Libro Spanish language ebooks

  • Over 75,000 Spanish language ebooks in all subject areas. 
  • You can change the interface language by going to Settings - Language in the upper right.

 

Emerald Insight

  • Approximately 200 full-text journals in business, accounting, engineering, and library science.

Emerging Sources Citation Index

  • Index and cited references to articles in journals not yet selected for inclusion in the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, or Arts and Humanities Citation Index. Typically these are newer periodicals and may represent newer fields of study.

 

Encyclopedia of Physics Demonstrations

  • 600 physics demonstrations on video.

Energy & Power Source

  • Includes full-text articles on energy industry and practice, including distribution, exploration, extraction, marketing, processing, production, research, and selling in coal, electric, natural gas, nuclear, petroleum, and renewable energies.

Tutorial

English Poetry 600-1900

  • Please Note: You will enter the American and English Literature collections within the Electronic Book Center. From there, reselect the name of the database to search it specifically, or conduct a cross-search of all collections on the landing page.
  • Full text of over 175,000 poems by over 1,400 poets from British Commonwealth and ex-colonial countries, written in English 600-1900.

English Prose Drama

  • Please Note: You will enter the American and English Literature collections within the Electronic Book Center. From there, reselect the name of the database to search it specifically, or conduct a cross-search of all collections on the landing page.
  • Full text of over 1,800 plays written in prose for the stage, from the Renaissance to the end of the 19th century.

English Verse Drama

  • Please Note: You will enter the American and English Literature collections within the Electronic Book Center. From there, reselect the name of the database to search it specifically, or conduct a cross-search of all collections on the landing page.
  • Full text of over 2,200 works of poetry intended for the stage.

Entrepreneurial Studies Source

  • Includes full-text articles relating to entrepreneurship and small business, including business planning, communications, innovations, management, marketing, organizational behavior, product development, raising capital, risk-taking, and more. 
  • Thousands of company profiles and hundreds of videos, transcripts, and related articles from the Harvard Faculty Seminar Series and Vator.TV.

Tutorial

Environment Complete

  • Index, abstracts and full text of articles on environmental studies.

Tutorial

ERIC

  • Educational Resources Information Center. Index and abstracts of articles, books, and documents covering education research and practice.

Tutorial

Essay & General Literature Index

  • Provides citations for almost 250,000 essays in collections and anthologies in humanities and social science areas.

Tutorial

eStatement Studies

  • CANCELED. Data is included in IBISWorld, Key Statistics tabs.

Euromonitor Passport

  • Provides internationally comparable statistics and market reports for consumer, market and company research. 
  • Students can find information about consumers and economies in 210 countries 
  • More in-depth analysis is available for consumer goods and service industries in 100 countries.

Tutorial

Factiva (Dow Jones)

Tutorial

FAITS (Faulkner Advisory for Information Technology Studies)

  • One-of-a-kind online technology reports including technology tutorials, marketplace overviews, product and service selection guides, product and company profiles, and directories.

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text

  • Index, abstracts, and full text of articles related to film and television.

Tutorial

Food Science Source

  • Includes full-text on all areas of the food industry including agribusiness, food and beverage science, packaging, processing, safety, food service, shipping, culinary innovation, and product development.

Tutorial

Foreign Language Video Instruction

  • Foreign language video clips in which native speakers elaborate on a wide variety of topics about their culture, family, daily life, and more.

Fuente Academica

  • Scholarly journal articles in Spanish, covering many academic areas.

Tutorial

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia

  • Over 25,000 encyclopedic entries.

Tutorial

Gale Directory Library

  • Consists of directory titles such as: Ward's Business Directory of Private and Public Companies, Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media and the Encyclopedia of Associations (National/US).

Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index

  • Index and abstracts for articles about plants and gardens.

Tutorial

Gartner

  • Provides accurate and current research on the information technology industry.
  • Provides faculty and students with current trends in information technology allowing them to consider real-world, complex issues in the classroom while giving staff information on how to improve infrastructure, validate technology decisions, analyze trends in the industry, and understand best practices.
  • Sign up for "My Alerts" to have the latest research delivered to your inbox.

Gender Studies Database

  • Index and abstracts for publications covering gender-engaged scholarship.

Tutorial

Global ETD Search

  • Information about and links to over 4.5 million full-text graduate theses and dissertations, from the Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD).

 

Global Issues in Context

  • Media-rich sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health and cultural issues.

Tutorial

GPO Monthly Catalog

  • Catalog of U.S. government documents.

Tutorial

GreenFILE

  • Index, abstracts and full text of articles covering all aspects of human impact on the environment.

Tutorial

GuideStar

  • IRS and other data about approximately million tax-exempt nonprofit organizations. 
  • Search by name, location, category, or income.
  • Free registration required!

HarpWeek

  • Page images and indexes to Harper's Weekly, covering the Civil War and Reconstruction periods.

Health Source: Consumer Edition

  • Information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.

Tutorial

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

  • Index, abstracts, and full text focusing on many medical disciplines.

Tutorial

Historical Abstracts

  • Index and abstracts to articles covering world history from 1450 to present (excluding U.S. and Canada).

Tutorial

Historical Statistics of the United States

  • Quantitative facts of American history.

History and Archives Digital Resources

  • Pictures and archives about Ohio history, contributed by Ohio museums and libraries.

Human Resources Abstracts

  • Index to articles from 1975 to the present in all areas of human resources management, employee assistance, and organizational behavior.

Tutorial

Humanities Full Text

  • Includes full-text articles including interviews, obituaries, and original works as well as scholarly materials about humanities.

Tutorial

Humanities International Complete

  • Index, abstracts, and full text for literary, scholarly and creative journals in the humanities.

Tutorial

IBISWorld

  • US and global industry reports, including overviews, industry performance, and outlook, key companies and statistics, operating conditions, and useful infographics.
  • Business environment profiles, including consumer behavior, demographics, economics, commodities, and financial markets.
  • Search by NAICS code or keywords.

Institute of Physics (IOP) Journals

  • Full-text journals in physics and related areas. 
  • Not all content is available. 
  • Content is likely also available in the Electronic Journal Center (EJC).

International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text

  • Index, abstracts, and full text for articles and other publications on all aspects of theater and performance.

Tutorial

International Political Science Abstracts

  • Index and abstracts of articles from political science journals.

Tutorial

International Security & Counter-Terrorism Reference Center

  • Includes articles, books, images, newsfeeds, and governmental and organizational reports and commentary relating to international political security and terrorism.

Tutorial

Jewish Studies Source

  • Includes full-text in-depth coverage on all facets of historical and contemporary Judaism.

Tutorial

Journal Citation Reports

  • Allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from approximately 12,0000 scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries.
  • Includes journals' Impact Factor and Eigenfactor® Score as ways of measuring their influence in their disciplines.

Kanopy Streaming Videos

  • Thousands of videos covering all subject areas and all genres from educational to feature films. 
  • Create playlists, share clips or embed them into assignments, or review transcripts.

Legal Collection

  • Index, abstracts and full text of articles on law and legal topics.

Tutorial

LexisNexis Academic

  • Full text news, business, legal, medical, and reference information. 

Tutorial

LGBT Life with Full Text

  • Index, abstracts and full text of articles on LGBT issues.

Tutorial

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text

  • Index, abstracts, and full text for articles and other publications in library and information science and technology.

Tutorial

Literary Reference Center Plus

  • Information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.

Tutorial

MarketResearch.com Academic

MasterFILE Premier (popular magazines)

  • Index, abstracts, and full text covering nearly all subjects including general reference, business, health, and much more.
  • Designed for a general (as opposed to academic) audience.

Tutorial

MathSciNet

  • Index and abstracts of articles, books, dissertations, conferences, and other literature on mathematics.

Tutorial

MedicLatina

  • Medical research and investigative journal articles in Spanish.

Tutorial

MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO)

  • Comprehensive index for medical journals, providing full text for more than 1,370 journals.

Tutorial

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print

  • Descriptive information on over 3,000 contemporary testing instruments including test purpose, publisher, and pricing, and edited reviews written by content area experts. 
  • In addition, includes a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language.

Mergent Online

  • Business and financial information for investment research.
  • Private company data is available by including the D&B Private Company Database section.

Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies

  • Index to research, policy, and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia, and North Africa.

Tutorial

MLA Directory of Periodicals

  • List of periodicals in literature, language, linguistics, and folkore that are covered regularly in the MLA International Bibliography.

Tutorial

MLA International Bibliography

  • Index to articles, books and dissertations on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.

Tutorial

National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts

  • Summaries of thousands of law enforcement and criminal justice publications from 1970 to the present covering corrections, courts, crime statistics, domestic preparedness, drugs, juvenile justice, law enforcement, and victims.

Tutorial

Natural & Alternative Treatments

  • Articles on complementary and alternative medicine.

Tutorial

Newspaper Source

  • Full text for regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires, and newspaper columns.

Tutorial

OhioLINK (various databases)

This list includes many of the same databases as on Franklin's website, and may be useful as a substitute when the Nationwide Library links aren't working. You will need to select "Franklin University" as your institution, then the "Listing of OhioLINK Provided Research Databases."

OhioLINK Library Catalog

  • Catalog of books and other materials held in Ohio college and university libraries.

OhioLINK Music Center

  • The OhioLINK Music Center is an online streaming music database of international works in a variety of genres from classical to spoken word. 
  • The Music Center contains more than 81,000 tracks from more than 22,000 albums.

Open Access Theses and Dissertations

  • Information about and links to freely-available full-text to almost almost 3.5 million graduate theses and dissertations from over 1,100 colleges, universities, and research institutions.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

  • Covers todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. 
  • Presents each side of an issue with viewpoint reports, and adds journal articles, statistics, video/audio, news, and primary sources.

Tutorial

Oxford English Dictionary

  • Historical dictionary of the English language.

Oxford Scholarship Online

  • The complete texts of important scholarly books from Oxford University Press.
  • Full-text with unlimited use and no digital rights management.

PapersFirst

  • Index of papers presented at conferences.

Tutorial

Peace Research Abstracts

  • Indexing and abstracts from 1964 to the present about conflict resolution, international affairs and peace psychology.

Tutorial

Play Index

  • Provides summaries and notes regarding one-act plays, pageants, plays in verse, radio and television plays, classic drama and monologues from Shakespeare, Aeschylus, Euripedes, Moliere, and many more.

Points of View Reference Center

  • Provides balanced overviews, arguments and counter-arguments from a wide array of news sources, primary sources, and reference works on controversial topics of interest today.

Political Science Complete

  • Includes full-text coverage of comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, law and legislation, non-governmental organizations, and political theory.

Tutorial

ProceedingsFirst

  • Index of conference proceedings.

Tutorial

Professional Development Collection [Educators]

  • Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles.
  • This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.

Tutorial

Project Muse

  • Full-text humanities and social sciences journals.
  • Franklin subscribes to the Basic College Collection.

 

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global

  • Doctoral dissertations and master's theses from around the world.
  • Contains full-text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997.

 

PsycArticles (American Psychological Association (APA) Journals)

  • Full-text journal articles in all areas of psychology.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection

  • Index, abstracts, and full text covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.

Tutorial

PsycINFO early 1800s- Current

  • Abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.

Tutorial

Public Affairs Index

  • Indexes articles, conference papers, trade publications, and government documents in areas including banking & public finance, criminal justice, economic policy & taxation, education & education policy, emigration & immigration, energy & energy policy, ethics, government, humanitarian issues, industry & labor, law & legislation, natural disasters & poverty, politics & elections, social policy, and transportation.

Tutorial

PubMed

  • Comprises more than 25 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.

Tutorial

R2 Digital Library

  • Electronic books in health care and nursing fields. 

Tutorial

Race Relations Abstracts

  • Indexing from 1975 to the present on areas including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, ideology, community relations, ethnic relations, radicalism, economics, cultural identity, and pressure groups.

Tutorial

Reference USA

  • Searchable datasets of millions of U.S. public and private businesses and consumers with filtering, mapping, and data visualization tools.

Tutorial

RefWorks (Legacy)

  • Web-based citation management system.
  • First time users should use the new RefWorks link instead.
  • Current account holders may migrate any time in 2016 or 2017.

Tutorial

RefWorks (new as of August 2016)

  • Web-based citation management system. Save citations and documents to store, organize, and cite them in APA style. 
  • Add the Write-N-Cite plugin to MS Word to pull citations easily into your documents as you type.
  • New users should register with their Franklin University email by using the "Create Account" link.
  • Users with legacy accounts can log in to the new version and migrate their accounts as many times as they like.

Tutorial

Regional Business News

  • A full text newswire database that incorporates business wires from all over the world.

Tutorial

Religion and Philosophy Collection

  • Index, abstracts, and full text covering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.

Tutorial

RIA Checkpoint

  • Tax research covering federal tax, international tax, tax law, tax-related news, cases, rulings, the SOX Reporter, and WGL financial reporting and management, which includes the AICPA library.
  • Home page defaults to Accounting, Audit, and Corporate Finance page.
  • Access will be granted for 35 concurrent users for most content, but to 2 concurrent users for Accounting Standards material. Please remember to log out.

Tutorial

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature

  • Index and abstracts of articles, books, dissertations, conferences, and other literature on music.

Tutorial

Risk Management Reference Center

  • Includes full-text articles and reports on credit, liquidity, and operational, event, and market risk.

Tutorial

Roget's II: The New Thesaurus

  • Thesaurus of the English Language.

Safari Tech Books Online

  • Online books on information technology and business.
  • OhioLINK's subscription has a maximum for concurrent users. Please remember to 'log out' when finished and if you receive an error message that the maximum amount of users has been reached, please try again later.

Tutorial

Sage Stats

  • Platform consisting of data downloading and visualization tools for social science data about U.S. states, counties, cities, and metropolitan areas from government and non-government sources, spanning topics like employment, crime, religion, health care, education, and more. 
  • Also includes current, historical, and projected business and industry data to the zip code level.

Tutorial

Sanborn Historic Maps

  • Large-scale street plans of Ohio communities, produced by the Sanborn Fire Insurance company from 1867-1970.

Science Citation Index Expanded (ISI)

  • Index, abstracts, and cited references for articles in the sciences.

Tutorial

Science Digital Resources

  • Digital images for the sciences.

Science Online

  • Presents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive definitions, essays, diagrams, biographies, and experiments.

Science Reference Center

  • Index, abstracts, and full text covering biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental and life sciences, physics, scientists, science & society, technology, and wildlife.
  • Includes or has links to full text.

Tutorial

Security Management Practices

  • Real-world reports providing critical IT, legal, financial, and physical security information.
  • Includes or has links to full text.

Short Story Index

  • Designed to locate short stories by author or genre, or for those researching an author's body of work. Search by author, title, keyword, subject, date, literary technique, source, or any combination thereof.

 

Tutorial

Social Sciences Citation Index (ISI)

  • Index, abstracts, and cited references for articles in the social sciences.
  • Includes or has links to full text.

Tutorial

SocINDEX with Full Text

  • Index, abstracts, and full text for publications in sociology.
  • Includes or has links to full text.

Tutorial

Sociological Collection

  • Index, abstracts, and full text covering such topics as social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture, and social structure.

Tutorial

SPORTDiscus

  • Index, abstracts and full text of articles and other publications on sport, fitness and related disciplines.

Tutorial

Springer Protocols

  • Reproducible laboratory protocols in biomedical and life sciences.

Tutorial

SpringerLink Books and Journals

  • Full-text journals and books in sciences and social sciences.
  • Books may be read online, downloaded, or a print copy requested.

 

SRDS Media Solutions (Standard Rate and Data Service)

  • Cancelled. Faculty suggest searching "(name of magazine) media kit" online instead.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

  • Online encyclopedia of philosophy.

Statistical Abstracts of the U.S. (Proquest)

  • The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. 
  • Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.

Tutorial

TOPICsearch

  • Full text covering social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms.

Tutorial

Twentieth (20th) Century African-American Poetry

  • Please Note: You will enter the American and English Literature collections within the Electronic Book Center. From there, reselect the name of the database to search it specifically, or conduct a cross-search of all collections on the landing page.
  • 12,000 poems and with biographical profiles by more than 100 African-American poets.

Twentieth (20th) Century American Poetry

  • Please Note: You will enter the American and English Literature collections within the Electronic Book Center. From there, reselect the name of the database to search it specifically, or conduct a cross-search of all collections on the landing page.
  • Over 52,000 works from more than 316 poets.

Twentieth (20th) Century English Poetry

  • Please Note: You will enter the American and English Literature collections within the Electronic Book Center. From there, reselect the name of the database to search it specifically, or conduct a cross-search of all collections on the landing page.
  • Over 44,000 poems by 288 poets.

U.S. Political Stats

  • Data download and visualization tool with 225,000 data series from 1982 - present covering all three branches of the U.S. government. 
  • Covers campaigns, demographics, elections, voting records, interest groups, and Supreme Court cases.

Tutorial

University Press Scholarship Online

  • Full-text of unlimited-access electronic books published by Oxford University Press, University of California Press, University of Chicago Press, MIT Press, Yale University Press, and New York University Press. 

Tutorial

ValueLine

Vente et Gestion

  • French language business journals.

Tutorial

Vocational and Career Collection

  • Designed for vocational and technical libraries serving high schools, community colleges, trade institutions, and the general public.
  • Provides full text coverage for nearly 340 trade and industry-related periodicals.

Tutorial

Wall Street Journal

  • Comprehensive coverage from 1984 to the present, updated daily.
  • Read the contents of the most recent issue of the WSJ by selecting this link, and then clicking on the "latest available issue."

 

Web of Science

  • Combined search of Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts and Humanities Citation Index, BIOSIS, and Derwent Innovations Index. 
  • Searches indexes, abstracts, and cited references for journal articles.

Tutorial

Wiley Online Library

  • Full-text of unlimited-access electronic books published by Wiley.
  • We own from 2012 to the present; titles have no digital rights management.

Tutorial

William Butler Yeats Collection

  • Please Note: You will enter the American and English Literature collections within the Electronic Book Center. From there, reselect the name of the database to search it specifically, or conduct a cross-search of all collections on the landing page.
  • The complete work of William Butler Yeats.

Women's Studies International

  • Index and abstracts for publications covering Women's Studies.

Tutorial

World Book Academic

  • World Book Encyclopedia, Dictionary, Atlas, and other research tools.

WorldCat

  • Catalog of books and other materials held by libraries worldwide.

Tutorial

WorldCat Dissertations and Theses

  • Catalog of dissertations, theses and published material based on theses, worldwide.
  • Does not contain full-text of dissertations. Try Google Scholar to locate a free online version, or contact the library for additional assistance in accessing them.

Tutorial

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W